Notification of Political Groups of the Borough Council

Members are advised that the Proper Officer has received notification, under the provisions of the Local Government (Committees and Political Groups) Regulations 1990, of the operation of four political groups on the Council namely:-

NAME & NUMBER OF MEMBERS	DESIGNATED LEADER	DESIGNATED DEPUTY LEADER
LABOUR	ELIZABETH SHENTON	TERRY TURNER
CONSERVATIVE	STEPHEN SWEENEY	DAVID LOADES
LIBERAL DEMOCRAT	MARION REDDISH	IAN WILKES
NEWCASTLE INDEPENDENT GROUP	DEREK HUCKFIELD	EILEEN BRAITHWAITE
UKIP	KENNETH OWEN	DAVID HARPER

There is also one Green Party Councillor and one Independent Councillor.

Representation of Political Groups in Committees and Appointment of Members to Committees

		LABOUR	CONSERVATIVE	LIB DEM	UKIP	NEWCASTLE INDEPENDENT GROUP	GREEN	INDEPENDENT
Audit & Risk	7	4	2	0	1	0	0	0
		Sarah Pickup	Paul Waring		Ken Owen			
		Sylvia Dymond	David Loades					
		Sylvia Burgess						
		tbc						
Substitutes		4	2	0	1	0	0	0
			Stephen Sweeney		David Harper			

			Mark Holland					
Independent Mo	ember		•	PHILL E	UTTERS	Until end 2017/18	3	
Employees Consultative	7	4	2	0	0	1	0	0
		Elizabeth Shenton	Stephen Sweeney			Derek Huckfield		
		Sandra Hambleton	John Cooper			Tracking in		
		Bert Proctor						
		Ann Beech						
Substitutes		4	2	0	0	1	0	0
			David Loades			N/A		
			Trevor Johnson					
Ct - ff:	144	-		4	0		0	0
Staffing Committee	11	5	4	1	0	1	0	0
		Sylvia Dymond	Mark Holland	Marion Reddish		Dave Woolley		
		Amelia Rout	Stephen Sweeney					
		Ann Beech	John Cooper					
		Rob Wallace	Avril Frankish					
		Gill Williams						
Substitutes	11	5	4	1	0	1	0	0
		Tony Kearon	David Loades	June Walklate		Eileen Braithwaite		
			Chloe Mancey					

Grants Assessment	9	4	3	1	0	0	1	0
		Joan Winfield	Julie Cooper	June Walklate			Wenslie Naylon	
		Sophia Baker	Andrew parker					
		Rob Wallace	Lucinda Wing					
		Sylvia Burgess						
Substitutes	9	4	3	1	0	0	1	0
		Hilda Johnson	David Loades	Andrew Wemyss				
		Colin Eastwood	Gill Heesom					
		Dave Stringer						
Licensing	15	7	5	1	1	0	0	1
		Trevor	Simon Tagg	Andrew	David			Simon White
		Hambleton		Wemyss	Harper			
		Sandra Simpson	Chloe Mancey					
		Billy Welsh	Avril Frankish					
		Colin Eastwood	Trevor Johnson					
		Gill Williams	Andrew Parker					
		Joan Winfield						
		Reg Bailey						
Substitutes	15	7	5	1	1	0	0	1
		Tony Kearon	David Loades	Marion Reddish	Ken Owen			
		Dave Stringer	Stephen Sweeney					
		Rob Wallace	Paul Northcott					
			John Cooper					

Member Development	9	4	3	1	0	0	0	1
-		Rob Wallace	Tracey Peers	lan Wilkes				Simon White
		Bert Proctor	Trevor Johnson					
		Joan Winfield	Paul Waring					
		Trevor Hambleton						
Substitutes	9	4	3	1	0	0	0	1
			Mark Holland	Andrew Wemyss				
			lan Matthews					
			Gill Heesom					
Conservation Advisory	5	2	2	0	0	0	1	0
		Sandra Simpson	Julie Cooper				Wenslie Naylon	
		Dave Allport	Trevor Johnson					
Substitutes	5	2	2	0	0	0	1	0
		Kyle Robinson	Stephen Sweeney					
		Sylvia Burgess						
Planning	16	8	5	1	1	1	0	0
		Sophia Baker	Paul Northcott	Marion Reddish	Ken Owen	Eileen Braithwaite		
		Dave Stringer	Andrew Fear					
		Bert Proctor	Chloe Mancey					
		Sandra	Gill Heesom					
		Hambleton						
		Gill Williams	John Cooper					
		John Williams						
		Billy Welsh						
		Terry Turner						
Substitutes	16	8	5	1	1	1	0	0

			N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A		
			N/A					
			N/A					
			N/A					
			N/A					
Public Protection	13	6	4	1	1	1	0	0
		Kyle Robinson	lan Matthews	Andrew Wemyss	David Harper	Eileen Braithwaite		
		Sylvia Dymond	Peter Hailstones					
		Gill Williams	Linda Hailstones					
		Dave Allport	John Tagg					
		Joan Winfield						
		Tony Kearon						
Substitutes	13	6	4	1	1	1	0	0
			Trevor Johnson	June Walklate	Ken Owen	N/A		
			Gill Heesom					
			Lucinda Wing					
			Paul Waring					
Standards Committee	8	4	3	1	0	0	0	0
		Sandra Hambleton	Chloe Mancey	Andrew Wemyss				
		Joan Winfield	Gill Heesom					
		Tony Eagles	Trevor Johnson					
		Reg Bailey						
Substitutes	8	4	3	1	0	0	0	0

			John Cooper	lan Wilkes				
			Stephen	Idii Wiikos				
			Sweeney					
			Paul Northcott					
			Paul Northcott					
Health & Well	11	5	4	1	0	1	0	0
Being Scrutiny	11				U		U	· ·
		Colin Eastwood	David Loades	June Walklate		Dave Woolley		
		Hilda Johnson	Paul Northcott					
		Reginald Bailey	Linda Hailstones					
		David Allport	Avril Frankish					
		Joan Winfield						
Substitutes	11	5	4	1	0	1	0	0
			Stephen	Marion		N/A		
			Sweeney	Reddish				
			Mark Holland					
Active & Cohesive Scrutiny	11	5	4	1	0	1	0	0
•		Gill Williams	Julie Cooper	June Walklate		Dave Woolley		
		Glyn Plant	Gill Heesom					
		Joan Winfield	John Tagg					
		Colin Eastwood	Andrew Parker					
		Trevor Hambleton						
Substitutes	11	5	4	1	0	1	0	0
			Lucinda Wing	lan Wilkes		N/A		
			Avril Frankish					
			Paul Waring					

Economic Development Scrutiny Committee	11	5	4	1	0	1	0	0
		Dave Stringer	Mark Holland	lan Wilkes		Derek Huckfield		
		Gill Williams	David Loades					
		Mike Stubbs	lan Matthews					
		Sylvia Burgess	Paul Northcott					
		Trevor Hambleton						
Substitutes	11	5	4	1	0	1	0	0
		Sophia Baker	Stephen Sweeney	Andrew Wemyss		N/A		
			Andrew Fear					
			Avril Frankish					
			Lucinda Wing					
Cleaner, Greener & Safer Scrutiny Committee	11	5	4	1	0	1	0	0
		Dave Allport	Chloe Mancey			Eileen Braithwaite		
		Billy Welsh	Simon Tagg					
		Sylvia Dymond	Peter Hailstones					
		Joan Winfield	Lucinda Wing					
		Kyle Robinson						
Substitutes	11	5	4	1	0	1	0	0
			Julie Cooper			N/A		
			David Loades					
			Trevor Johnson					

Finance, Resources and Partnerships Scrutiny	11	5	4	1	0	1	0	0
		Mike Stubbs	Stephen Sweeney	lan Wilkes		Derek Huckfield		
		Rob Wallace	David Loades					
		Sarah Pickup	Andrew Fear					
		Dave Stringer	Paul Waring					
		Gill Williams						
Substitutes	11	5	4	1	0	1	0	0
			Mark Holland	Marion Reddish		N/A		
			Avril Frankish					
			Paul Northcott					
			lan Matthews					
Governance Review Sub Committee	5	2	2	1				
		Elizabeth Shenton	Mark Holland	lan Wilkes				
		Terry Turner	Simon Tagg					

Appointment of Chairs and Vice-Chairs of Committees (in accordance with Standing Order 46(1)

Members are advised of the following nominations for the positions of Chair and Vice-Chair for the various Committees of the Council. Where there are two nominations (**highlighted in bold**), the Council must vote on which Member to appoint:-

COMMITTEE	CHAIR	VICE-CHAIR
Audit & Risk	PAUL WARING SARAH PICKUP	DAVID LOADES SYLVIA DYMOND
Conservation Advisory	JULIE COOPER WENSLIE NAYLON	TREVOR JOHNSON DAVE ALLPORT
Employees Consultative	JOHN COOPER ELIZABETH SHENTON	NO NOMINATION REQUIRED
Grants Assessment	PORTFOLIO HOLDER	NO NOMINATION REQUIRED
Licensing	SIMON TAGG TREVOR HAMBLETON	TREVOR JOHNSON SIMON WHITE
Member Development	TREVOR JOHNSON ROB WALLACE	NO NOMINATION REQUIRED
Planning	PAUL NORTHCOTT SOPHIA BAKER	MARION REDDISH
Public Protection	IAN MATTHEWS KYLE ROBINSON	ANDREW WEMYSS

Staffing Committee	MARK HOLLAND SYLVIA DYMOND	NO NOMINATION REQUIRED
Standards Committee	GILL HEESOM SANDRA HAMBLETON	CHLOE MANCEY JOAN WINFIELD
Health & Well Being Scrutiny	PAUL NORTHCOTT COLIN EASTWOOD	LINDA HAILSTONES HILDA JOHNSON
Active & Cohesive Communities SC	JULIE COOPER GILL WILLIAMS	JOHN TAGG GLYN PLANT
Cleaner, Greener & Safer Communities SC	PETER HAILSTONES DAVE ALLPORT	LUCINDA WING BILLY WELSH
Economic Development & Enterprise SC	DAVID LOADES DAVE STRINGER	MARK HOLLAND GILL WILLIAMS
Finance, Resources and Partnerships SC	ANDREW FEAR MIKE STUBBS	STEPHEN SWEENEY ROB WALLACE
MAYOR, DEPUTY MAYOR, LEADER AND D	EPUTY LEADER NOMINATIONS	
NOMINATION FOR MAYOR	CLLR SANDRA HAMBLETON	
NOMINATION FOR DEPUTY MAYOR	CLLR IAN WILKES	
NOMINATIONS FOR LEADER	CLLR STEPHEN SWEENEY CLLR ELIZABETH SHENTON	
NOMINATION FOR DEPUTY LEADER	CLLR TERRY TURNER	